Black Holes and Revelations: A breakdown of LHC, Part 1

I was amused to find in my blog stats that the google search “people against Large Hadron Collider” is now in my top searches.

Honestly, I didn’t think the deck was all that bad.

Since the weekend, I’ve been rolling around ideas in my head for trying to optimize the two decks I piloted. The Syndicate/ Spider Friends build I have dubbed Large Hadron Collider showed the potential for crazy big damage, but equally just collapsed in on itself. Literally half the time, in fact.

So what exactly can I do about it, I wonder? Today I’m going to be looking at the character selction.

There’s a buzzing feeling in the back of my brain telling me that the numbers are wrong. I only played 29 characters, thinking the extra card draw would pick up the slack – implosions proved me wrong, so that’s the first thing to remedy. But also, the actual numbers of each given character… feel… off. The analytic part of my brain isn’t really helping with logic to back up that assertion, let alone a solution. But we’ll start at the bottom and work up. If we start with one copy of each character, that gives us:

Doppelganger, Killer Clone

Speedball, Robert Baldwin

Zabu, Constant Companion

Frank Drake, Nightstalker

Black Cat, Nine Lives

Night Thrasher, Dwayne Michael Taylor

Shanna The She Devil, Shanna O Hara Plunder

Blade, Nightstalker

Lizard, Voracious Predator

Vulture, Aerial Stalker

Slyde, Jalome Bleacher

Razorfist, Sociopathic Mercenary

Fusion, Markley

Trapster, Peter Petruski

Spider Slayer VX, Arachnid Hunter

Electro, Shock Jock

Answer, Aaron Nicholson

Swarm, Fritz Von Meyer

Aloysha Kravinoff, Son of Kraven

That’s 19 to start with. I reckon we’d want another 13 characters, bring it to a more reliable 32.

The goal here is acheiving maximum consistency. However, there is a tension in swarm decks between drawing the characters you want to see every game and drawing enough characters with different names to allow you spend all your resource points. Have a gander at good swarm decks from days past – they either run searchers like Beetle and Yellowjacket or run army characters. (And Longshot) What we have available however, is Legacy of Evil, which in fact requires you to already be drawing well to work. It does nothing for you on an already bad draw. It seems awesome on paper, but it’s not really.  So we really need to get the numbers right on the character selection.And be lucky.  (This lack of good draw options is pretty much the real reason I don’t think the deck can ever be truly consistent. But we’ll try and get it closer)

So who are our key characters? I think the ideal curve for the deck in the average game is:

T1: Lizard (To get the cards flowing asap)

T2: Shanna (Chaining the team up so she’s ready)

T3: Electro and Vulture

T4: Zabu, Answer, and Razorfist

T5: Aloysha

Which gives me the list of those guys I really want to see. The question remains, however: How many do we put in? Is increasing them to 4x going to lead to unspent resource points? I think there’s an argument for 4x Lizard and 4x Aloysha – games where I hit them went so much more smoothly. Of the rest, Razorfist is the least essential, easily replaced by any other random 1 drop, so I’d leave him at one copy.  If we up the other people on the list to 3x, that gives us a total of 35. Which leaves the “which two to cut” question…  I’m thinking the Answer (because he’s really not very good off initiative) should be pushed back to 2x. 34 characters might be a good idea though. Most implosions were as a result of not drawing characters. And when the characters are flowing, Legacy of Evil lets you get to the pumps.

~ by Anthony on August 14, 2008.

One Response to “Black Holes and Revelations: A breakdown of LHC, Part 1”

  1. […] Black Holes and Revelations: A breakdown of LHC, Part 1 […]

Leave a Reply

 
